Welcome to this latest attempt to connect librarians from west-central Wisconsin with each other! Please send in content (booklists, ideas, photos, etc.), and comment on posts so we can help each other. If you were using feedmyinbox to get new posts sent to you before, you'll need to switch to another service (blogtrottr works like feedmyinbox, googlereader is a good blog-reader to try).

Search This Blog

Thursday, April 14, 2016

And the winner is...someone you know?

I think awards and honors are pretty nifty.  I realized after attending nearly every Wisconsin Library Association Awards and Honors event for the past 11 years that it is really worthwhile to honor the hard work, dedication, and effectiveness of the librarians, trustees, volunteers, and libraries in our state.  And do we ever have some great folks out there to honor! Last year, the River Falls Public Library was named WLA's Library of the Year, so you know it can happen to people we know.  Please consider nominating one of your terrific colleagues (or your own library) for one of these awards, it is even more fun to attend the ceremony if you know one of the honorees!

The Wisconsin Library Association Awards & Honors Committee is seeking nominations for annual awards in the following categories: 
  • Library of the Year 
  • WLA/Demco Librarian of the Year 
  • Trustee of the Year 
  • Special Service 
  • Citation of Merit 
  • Muriel Fuller 

This is the perfect opportunity to recognize a colleague who has contributed significantly to our profession, that tireless library volunteer or trustee, an original program, or anyone else whom you feel deserves special recognition.  You can find the nomination forms with listed criteria here.

Nominations are due to the WLA office no later than August 15, 2016, via email to wla@wisconsinlibraries.org. Awards and honors will be conferred at the annual conference, October 27, at the Potawatomi Hotel & Casino in Milwaukee.